Note to New Members ×

What have you learned this season?

lonbordin

I'll go first.  I've learned about boot tightness.  Yes, I'm talking about buckle, booster tightness.

First I don't have a skier background... I'm an advanced beginner skier at best.  My background is skater, surfer, and softbooter. I've spent minimal time in ski boots.  Yeah I've watched the how to put your boot on videos like this-

But they don't address tightness.  And, of course, tightness is subjective and relative (temperature, time of day, we racin'? or just cruisen'?).

I've figured out what levels of tightness that work for me and in what context.  I know this seems really basic but to be honest up until a few weeks ago my boots were loosely tightened and getting to a "proper" level of snugness* has been a game changer.

*to be clear my shells are race fit... I'm not talking about that snugness.

Edited by lonbordin
it's embarassing actually...
  • Like 2

I have discovered that I actually can link up perfect pencil lines IF the terrain and grooming is near perfect. Now onward and upward to try to do the same on slightly steeper slopes where I must control my speed by getting my knees/hips closer to the snow and bending my board to turn tighter. 

• Like 3

1) After riding only very gummy hard boots (practically soft boots in a plastic shell), for almost 2 seasons, I tried my old Dalbellos. Wow, tip and rip! Nothing beats a nice stiff boot, on good snow, for carving! 

2) I've find out that I can do nice heel side ECs, with a soft booter-like stance, something like +24/+3. With a noodly 3800 163, plastic plates and soft hard boots, I can do it even at really low speed and a steeper green run. Great fun to link 4-6 EC turns, on a setup that wasn't optimized for it! 

3) I prefer jumping the spins on a narrower directional board, rather than traditional duck stance. Freak 🤪 

• Like 4

I learned to just enjoy the ride....