THRIST Superconductor vs. KESSLER 168

Comapedrosa

Hi, I’m already thinking about my next acquisition for *next* season. The boards on my shortlist are the Sperconductor and the 168 - both seem to earn glowing reviews from all you sages and super athletes. How should I think about this trade off?

As for more infor about me: my quiver includes a Donek Monster, a Coiler Stubby v2, and an older Swoard... I’ve been carving since 1991, but still suck at it :-). Live on the West Coast now and am looking for something that makes the medium carve as easy as possible for me (not slalom nor giant). I like the liveliness of the Monster, but also the stability and steadfast hold of Coiler...

Thx so much for you thoughts!

I haven't ridden a Thirst, but I have owned a couple of Coilers, a Donek, couple of SGs, an Oxess and the Kessler 168 in question. What I can say is that the K168 is, by far, the easiest snowboard (hardboot or softboot) I've ever ridden, full stop. Sorry, I mean, period.

Winningest board maker from the world cup and Olympics, dominating for years, reputation for consistency and durability vs little known maker. Not to take anything away from Thirst because I'm sure they're good boards and the majority of reviews are positive, but I still know which I'd pick... I'll try a Thirst one day, just not today. Might buy a PC actually.

Edited by daveo
  • Like 1

I have a custom K168 and it's a staggeringly good board. It will carve super tight turns on the steep as happily as it does GS turns. I got it this year and expected that it would carve tight very well but figured it would get busy or sketchy at higher speeds and it just doesn't.

I've never ridden the Thrist but have heard good things....that said it's hard to go wrong with the Kessler. I'd buy it again in a heartbeat.

dave

• Like 2

2 hours ago, David Kirk said: