Note to New Members ×

Beginner/ Intermediate Carver - Board Upgrade - Advice sought

Charlie2021

Hi everyone!

I am looking for some advice. I would consider myself a Beginner/ Intermediate snowboarder. I have been boarding for 20 years - however, that would only mean one week per season sometimes, other times a number of weekends, and some years, no snowboarding at all. 

I have nearly always used soft boots and a Burton bullet board that was about 20 years old. 

However, two years ago I made the jump to an alpine board and hard boots. I used to have dreams of becoming good enough to go to the snow park, learn tricks etc.

The reality was, I was becoming middle aged, not getting in enough time on the snow every year, and usually spending my time on groomed pistes. 

I was finding that using the Burton bullet on the piste was a killer - I was always fighting to slow down, wobbling on flat sections and generally not enjoying it on the piste (it probably was designed for fresh snow).

The change to an alpine board was fantastic. I have much more control, can do nice carves and rarely find myself catching an edge. I also feel safer on the piste than before and the board really seems to leave me less exhausted than before. 

So, finally to my questions. I picked up a second hand Rossignol "xlr" 163cm board two years ago. I have no idea if it is the right size for me, but I really enjoy it. I bought some new bindings and a pair of Deluxe Track 700 boots. 

I weigh about 86kg / 13.54 stone / 13 stone, 7.6 lbs / 194lbs. I am 5' 11 or 1,80m in height and I am 45 years old.

I will attach some photos here:

https://justpaste.it/992nu

Now, I imagine that this board is very old and that design has improved greatly. I would consider upgrading my board if you guys think there is something out there I should try?

I live in Barcelona, and occasionally some used boards pop for sale second hand. I would like advice on what I should keep an eye out for?