Note to New Members ×

I should be better than I am and I'm pissed.

1xsculler

Boy!....... I wish time on snow was all the was needed!  .....but my 100+ days a season on the hill sure disproves that for me......but in this niche sport I rarely see any hardbooters at my hills,  much less any to ride with and learn from.......so I'm also stuck with my bad skills that are holding me back! 

• Like 1

Welcome to hardboot snowboarding!

I have been doing this since January 1990.  You’re going to have good, bad and worse days for as long as you continue to persue improvement in this sport.  

It’s kind of like golf, but it doesn’t suck.

Edited by workshop7
  • Like 5

17 minutes ago, barryj said:

Boy!....... I wish time on snow was all the was needed!  .....but my 100+ days a season on the hill sure disproves that for me......but in this niche sport I rarely see any hardbooters at my hills,  much less any to ride with and learn from.......so I'm also stuck with my bad skills that are holding me back! 

I've had two bouts with alpine snowboarding, with a substantial multi-year gap inbetween. The first started in 93? 94? I was riding a PJ6. I was going to boarding school and was the only snowboarder, and all I had to guide me was occasional stills from snowboarding mags (which at the time, you could find alpine coverage in mags). It sucked, thoroughly. I got in a lot of days  but all that taught me that time on the mountain does not necessarily make you better ... thankfully I had persistence, and my teenage huevos were bigger than my brain. We occasionally went night skiing at Temple Mtn. in NH (RIP) there was a little posse of hardbooters there that seemed to know what they were doing. One of them saw me flopping around like a fish on dry land and took pity on me—15 minutes with that guy taught me more than I had learned in a year or two of suffering on my own.