Note to New Members ×

Bomber website down?

grock5

Well of course unless you actually close the hole, it's obviously still there. Whoever runs the systems needs to get onto that. I'm not a php expert but it'll be something pretty obvious or you'd not have been broken by people who are polite enough to let you know. File permissions or easy passwords, or old versions of php or packages on it would be likely targets. You could alternatively chase down the people who did it, as no doubt there's lots of other victims and some of them will tell you what was done.

I'd test it for you from here, but I don't want your police knocking on my door.

The forum runs on vBulletin 4.1.10.

There were known vulnerabilities in vBulletin 4.1.10 and 4.1.x and recently 4.2

https://www.google.ca/search?q=vbulletin+4.1.10+exploit

The current version is vBulletin 5 with 4.2 still officially supported.

The major mistake appears to be not deleting the /install directory after installing or upgrading.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=301904

This has happened to thousands of sites and was being done by a "bot". It is now being done by multiple "bots" which is why you are seeing a different splash screen as the already "hacked" BoL site gets hacked by another bot. The danger is that it may appear to be only changing the index page but could be adding hidden root/admin level accounts or leaving other backdoors.

You may see some activity here:

Admin CP -> Statistics & Logs

As "philw" mentioned......I'd be happy to poke at it too but travel regularly to the US on biz and cannot afford to risk possible legal issues :nono:.

It's not Bomber specific or targetted and does not appear to be malicious.....yet

My 2 cents.....

//Paul

You may see some activity here:

Admin CP -> Statistics & Logs

As "philw" mentioned......I'd be happy to poke at it too but travel regularly to the US on biz and cannot afford to risk possible legal issues :nono:.