Note to New Members ×

How to Carve a Snowboard

crackaddict

Tell me more about the cat- I love smokey gray cats!

Good content, maybe a bit wordy but well done for doing this on your own.  One point that always seems to come up is finishing the heel side turn without washing out (too little pressure) or chattering (too much).  The delicate balance between the two is complicated by over-rotation from neutral.  Some of this can be mitigated by lifting, canting and forward lean adjustments, but those are only adjustments and don't necessarily fix the issue.  The middle ground angles of 20-30 front and 10-20 rear seem to be the worst in my experience, whereas duck and extreme alpine are less so.  

Thanks for taking the time and putting in the effort to create this.

D.

• Like 1

Hey James!

Thank you for sharing your knowledge.
You truly one of the best softboot carver out there an it’s cool that your taking the time to share your tips to help others.
I’m a snowboard instructor/evaluator been teaching for 15 years and I love seeing a great how to carve video. A lot of good tips and helpful drills. Amazing work pretty sure it’s going to help many aspiring carvers.
Have a good season!✌️

Guillaume

• Like 1

I appreciate this effort. The intro is rather antagonizing to other groups and styles. That’s been tried (ahem, EC vs Bomber/racer style) and I can tell you it’s pointless. As much as I agree that falling leaf is not snowboarding, if somebody sees another style and says to themselves wow, I need to carve more, that’s a win for all of us.

And I’d love it if we could retire the term Eurocarve. :biggthump

• Like 9

From having made a couple of instruction videos of my own, I know only too well how much effort and time goes into these.

40+ minutes is a long time. An alternative would be to break the subject up into shorter sections, perhaps focused on a single component that an aspiring carver could work on. Then a final one putting the components together.