65 members have voted

1. 1. What's your BASE bevel?

• 0.0 degrees
    • 0.5 degrees
    • 1.0 degrees
    • 1.5 degrees
    • 2.0 degrees
    • More degrees? Do tell...

I have been riding with 1 degree base and side bevels for ~10 years and just had one of my boards done with 1.5 & 2 degree bevels. I've only got a few runs on that board so far, but I am leaning toward doing that to my other boards.

Mostly I was looking to make the board feel more neutral (less catchy / hooky) when riding fast with the base flat... I got what I wanted, but I also feel like it might be a little too neutral. I was surprised how much difference an extra 0.5 degree makes.

So I'm curious, what bevels does everyone else use, and why?

Thanks!

... but I've noticed that my board also "wants to turn" when I'm riding neutral at high speeds, often on flat, green zones. Feels like it wants to grab an edge in the rear and spooks me a bit.

Wonder now if another .5 degree on the base bevel (it's 1.0 now) would solve it. Anyone else know for sure?

I ride one to make it less grabby, but going over that means you have to put it up on edge farther to get it to grab. I've never tried it with less so I don't know any different than 1, but it sure seems like a good all around number. Racers maybe want a little less for faster edge changes. Riders on alot of cat tracks might like a little more for less grabbiness.

I've been riding my Donek FCII at the delivered 0 bevel cuz I am hard-core :angryfire

Actually - my theory is that you can get more life out of the board between grinds, because when the edges get skuffed up enough, I can file to a 0.5deg, then 1deg and get nice edges each time without touching the base. It seems to me that regardless of your bevel, once you've filed the edges higher than the base, you're going to end up with an effective bevel with regards to grabbiness - then you'll need a grind.