Note to New Members ×

Your all time favourite carving board?

surfinsmiley

So...... I`m looking at buying my first true carving only board.

I`m only interested in recreational carving, not racing.

I have a Rad Air Tanker 200 and a Rad Air LSD 164. both of which are very multi-functional and, for me, great carvers.

I have read so much on here about so many good boards that now, I`m confused as which is the best way to go.:confused:

I want a carving board that I can just ride without to much thinking about the board. The board that allows me to just think about the turn I`m doing and the next one without spanking me inbetween.

If I make a comparision to cars it might be like this........ A good driver can drive a Ferrari really fast without crashing but an average driver would crash the Ferrari in an instant at the same speeds. As an average driver I could drive a WRX with a much higher degree of saftey and only marginaly slower, if at all, than I could drive the Ferrari. When the chips are down, I would "generally" have more fun in the WRX, purely due to my skill level.;) I hope that makes sense/ understandable analogy.

Anyway......

I would like to know about your all time favourite carving board, the board that feels like it`s an extension of your body.

Which board do you pull out on the perfect groomers for all out, no holes barred carving fun?

If you could give me the rough specs on that board to, it would be great.

As always, Thanks for your feedback. BOL rules.

hate to sound like a broken record but my vote is for a Donek Freecarve I (18 cm waist) in the 171 length. I enjoy riding other boards of various manufacturers and lengths. There are very few I just didn't like, there are many that I really like, but the one 'go to' deck, for me, has always been my FC I. I've never had a bad day on it.

That said - it's really a matter of personal taste.

had to repeat this; no board works for every body equal 'easy' or 'on every slope'.