Note to New Members ×

Nidecker Spectre - too deep sidecut? (7.9 m Sidecut Radius on 168)

Skahw

I am interested in buying a snowboard for hard charging and carving. 

F2 Eliminator Snowboards seem to be THE big thing. 

While searching for raceboards I came across the Nidecker Spectre 168. The thing that worries me is the deep sidecut of 7.9 m Sidecut Radius. F2 Eliminator boards have around 13m which should be way more stable at high speed. 

But I am not that experienced, does somebody have the knowledge?

Maybe even someone who has ridden the Nidecker Spectre?

Thanks in advance!

They have a different design intent. The eliminator is a bx based design that can be used for bx racing and carving if you can handle it and that's reflected in the sidecut and flex pattern. The nidecker is an all mountain type shape. Apples/orange sort of thing.

12 minutes ago, daveo said:

They have a different design intent. The eliminator is a bx based design that can be used for bx racing and carving if you can handle it and that's reflected in the sidecut and flex pattern. The nidecker is an all mountain type shape. Apples/orange sort of thing.

Dumb questions, but what exactly is "bx racing"? I have heard it before, but cant find a good explanation.

I thought both of them are raceboards, but the nidecker tries to combine it a little bit with all mountain (would be fine for me, when its still stable at high speed)

11 minutes ago, SunSurfer said:

@Skahw
you plan to ride in hard boots or soft boots and suitably stiff bindings?

Really really hard soft boots/binding combi.

I have the Salomon malamute US9 and the Rome cleaver in M.

It would be difficult to go any harder for a softboot setup.

(I like to ride with extremly positive angles)

Edited by Skahw

29 minutes ago, Skahw said:

Dumb questions, but what exactly is "bx racing"?