Note to New Members ×

Comparison between Northwave and UPZ

forrest

Hey all,

In a way the title says it all. I'm not looking to buy boots but I am an engineer who has worked in boot fitting and am curious. I've never seen a set of Northwaves in person but they look relatively similar to current UPZs. Anyone able to enlighten me as to the big differences? The reason I don't ask about Deelux is they seem to have established a more unique direction in their boot development.

Walker

The fact that you can't get them is the point. I'm curious about how they differ in feel and behavior. Theres a huge amount of tweeking and adjustment that you can do to boots if you have the tools and the time. Presumably folks on the WC are better riders than I so I'd like to know what they find better and see what can be added into another boot.

In the same vein next winter I'm hoping to take a race lasted ski boot and revamp it, give it a bit of asymmetric flex, chop the toe and heel lugs etc. I've always found snowboard boots to be excessively wide, expected since theres only a handful of molds in use.

Cheers

I had both of them, there are a lot of differences between NW and UPZ

The NW has symmetric shell as the Deeluxe 325
The UPZ has asymetric shell as the Deeluxe 700

NW are so easy to get in and out
UPZ are so difficoult to get in and out

NW has great front and rear flex and it can be easily modified through the springs
UPZ front and rear flex depends mainly from the tongue, the grey is metal stiff, the black is stiff, the red is gum. Choose one tongue and then adjust with through the springs.

NW has centered sole
UPZ has the heel placed under your heel, you have to mind this when you tune your bindings.

Both has great lateral stiffness.

NW has the ankle buckle maid in steel wire which doesn't give any issue in forward flex
UPZ has plastic and alluminim ankle buckle wich, in deep flex, hits the first buckle un your leg

NW are quite narrow
UPZ are quite wide