Note to New Members ×

Have you thought about how you've changed in the time since you joined BOL?

scotts.Scheinman

I joined as a highschool freshman intent on being a pilot in the airforce, went to an aviation college and burnt out after a year. Went to Culinary school, worked around NH for two years, and now I'm a Pre-Med student, and all my friends just graduated college :( making me feel like I've wasted the past 4 years.

I started here at BOL on the old forum, which I guess, isn't the old forum just the forum put into a more user-friendly format. In those days, before the TD1 or even the Toaster had been invented, we sat around and wished for a plate binding that didn't screw mount into the topsheet of our boards. Finally, this Fin guy made a pair of trenchdiggers and started selling them to the forum.

Seriously, I have become a proficient intermediate rider and have made numerous friends as a result of hanging out here on Bomber. Something that I would have struggled for years to accomplish without the daily rider input and tech articles here.

An example: the first time that I rode a pair of TD1's, I didn't use bumpers because the bindings (a gift from a fellow rider) had no bumpers. I failed and flailed miserably. I contacted Fin and asked for help. He recommended bumpers (duh, to me). So, once the bumpers were attached and a few more tweaks learned from the forum added, I began to carve. It all started from that to now, being able to go anywhere on the mountain I want to ('cept bumps, not so much).

Oh, and I have a son who hardboots now, too.

Mark

I've been hardbooting for 20 years, since the neon era. In '89 I cut the highback off my strap bindings, attached piece of cable for a heel bail & strapped in with my solomon SX91s:eek:

Bought UPS alpinas with flourescent pink the next year (looked good on the K2 TX) and never looked back at laces & straps again.:flamethro

I only discovered BOL 2 years ago but it feels like I've been here forever.