Note to New Members ×

Beginner question about groomed slopes

cin

Hi everyone,

First some context: my name is Wessel, and I'm an aspiring hardbooter from the Netherlands. Been snowboarding (softboots) one week a year since 2003 and during this time got intrigued by the carving phenomenon. In order to pursue this myself, I've started hardbooting last summer on an indoor slope, attending a few trainings aimed at the slalom discipline. Though competitive slalom is not my ambition, I did get some pointers and excersises for when I get to ride outdoors in Austria later this month.

While I will probably have tons of questions after my first week of hardbooting, there is something I would like to know before going;

Most videos and pictures I found on the net when searching for hardbooting tips were on perfectly groomed slopes. I'm an obvious beginner on hardboots and will probably switch between skidding turns and half-carves most of the time.

Should I focus my hardbooting efforts on perfectly groomed slopes only, and swap to a softboot setup once the snow gets bad? Are there risks with hardbooting on less-than-perfect snow or are any risks only a thing at high speeds?

I already got the tip on another topic to at least start with most flexible board and work my way up if I feel comfortable.

My gear:

- Deeluxe Track-225

- 163 F2 Speedster GTS / F2 Race Titanium

- 163 F2 Speedster SL / F2 Race Titanium

- 171 Kessler Alpine / F2 Race Titanium