Note to New Members ×

All Mountain Snowboard

Buford67

My friend is in the market for a new snowboard. He is currently riding a Vapor and BMC by Burton. He is considering a new custom by Burton. For the price, is there better quality out there for all mountain riding? Rider is intermediate. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Check out Amplid, Peter Bauer's company, they have several options. The possibilities I am familiar with are below.

If he wants a beefy all mountain board for advanced riders, I would recommend the UNW8.

A more playful board is the Surfari. It is a fun carver and great powder board. A difficult combination to achieve.

The Creamer is the best "do everything" all mountain board I know of (I have tried quite a few over the years) and it is also super friendly and moderately priced. It is the same shape as their Milligram splitboard which I have been riding for 4 years now in every condition.

Burton Custom??   I wouldn't  want a wide park board for all Mtn. riding.

You want a Freeride weapon -  Check out Jones snowboards   For the same price as a Custom or less,  there are 5 different Jones models to choose from.   For East coast riding the Flagship model will do it all..... but I was partial to the storm chaser.

https://www.backcountry.com/jones-snowboards?show=all&p=salePriceUSbcs%3A[500+TO+600]&nf=1

• Like 1

Even talking to the builder of your board. How cool is that? Incredible if you ask me.

Custom vs mass produced 

Yes look at:

Donek

Virus

Prior

Coiler

Alloy

SG

Kessler 

Oxess

Jasey Jay

Etc.

He wants an incredible board without the high cost? Look at the full lineup of Fullbag snowsurfs.

Edited by Poloturbo
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

20 hours ago, Buford67 said:

Another question I have is what makes one board better than another board? Construction? Material? Mass produced vs not mass produced?