Note to New Members ×

Korua Boards - Anybody Tried One?

barryj

I bought a Café Racer a couple of seasons ago, and was sadly disappointed.

My background is 34 years of riding, BASI Full Cert, raced up to World Cup level, National titles in SL, GS, and SBX  Taught for 30yrs, trained instructors for 25.

It performed fairly well on perfectly smooth, well groomed pistes of perfect snow. However, if it was at all uneven or slightly rough, it’s lack of torsional stiffness let it down. It also made that weird ‘glassy’ sound when placed tail down, on a hard surface. 

I weighed about 180lbs back then and felt that it was too small with not enough edge, for the speeds that I wanted to ride at. At that time it was only made in one size. They definitely needed a bigger option, and in their ‘Plus’ construction, it should give better performance  

The finish was just ok, it didn’t scream quality at you. Their marketing makes them look a lot better than they are, and I think they’re very careful what terrain and snow quality they use, when they film. The shape is great, and with a decent build, it would be amazing, but alas...

After riding it 3 times, I sold it on. I put the money into a Coiler BXFR 160, and haven’t looked back. 

231F1C19-E7D8-4397-8E59-BB1B1A4CC931.jpeg

Edited by Emdee406
Omission
  • Like 4

That's a shame, although their better construction is presumably a bit better. The conditions in their videos do look extremely good, and there's no guarantee team riders are using stock stuff either.

Even so, the marketing's so good that it may at least get some more people turning their boards, which can't be a bad thing.