Note to New Members ×

Coiler Monster 182

Corey

I finally got a chance to get out in some good snow to play with my new Coiler Monster 182. I rode one of Bruce's Monsters at SES 09 and immediately fell in love with it. It was ordered in February and built in November. None of the other metal boards in the demo tent talked to me quite like this one did.

Disclaimer: I'm not a professional. I'm self-taught with very little contact with other carvers other than this site. 1987 was my first year snowboarding, started riding hard boots about 6 years ago. My riding style is more mellow than attack. I get on the hill about 15 days per season but I'm always trying to do more. Most of my previous boards have been fiberglass or older metal with an old-school design.

Equipment: Coiler Monster 182, 14/15m sidecut, 20cm waist, 2 degree side bevel on the edges. I got this built a little softer than normal (built for 190 lbs, I'm 205 lbs) as I like my boards on the easier flexing side. Step-in TD3 bindings with 6/6 (almost pure toe/heel lift) and yellow e-rings, Deeluxe 700T boots with blue BTS kit and FinTec heels.

The first full day of riding this year I started out on smaller boards to get my legs back under me and to remember how to ride without going mach 2. I played on a Volkl RT 163 SL and a Madd 170 metal. Once I was feeling confident in those I dug out the bigger Coiler.

Immediately I noticed the larger sidecut of the Monster. I almost fell over to the inside of the turn while moving slowly. No suprise there: a 14/15m board is just not going to turn like a 10m SL board! I start picking up some speed and leaning into it. Woah, it feels refined. That's not even the right word but it seems to just do a better job at slicing trenches than any other board I've ridden. No drama, just slicing to find more grip for you.