Note to New Members ×

about to beggin hard booting. should i be scared?

Call me jack

Ok well now scared, but as of right now i'm about to start riding hard boots for the first time; i got my board and bindings together, and i'm just waiting on boots.

I've been reading the tech articals on here, and practicing some of the stuff in my softies. I feel like i should be confident (not amazing, just confident) when i first hop on this sucker, but there's a little voice in the back of my head say 'your too ignorant: total faillage!'

i've been snowboarding for 9 years in soft boots, and i'd say i got sort boot carving, and it's dynamics 90% understood/mastered*

when i start hard booting, am i gonna be completely lost or will it be like riding a bike, only the bike is faster and has ape hanger handle bars?

I think you will pick it up extremely fast. Ive been snowboarding for 10+ years and tried hardbooting for the first time last year. I was able to carve some C's very quickly. I would just suggest refreshing yourself on some of the tech articles right before going out on the slopes. I thought "the norm" was pretty helpful in just getting the basic idea of a carved turn down, and was past that within an hour or two, im guessing because of all of my previous experience. If you can carve C's in your soft boots, you should be able to in hardboots. And if you can't, its not that big of a deal either. imho, when you are firrst switching to hardboots, it is not a huge difference, it just makes getting on edge much easier. So I wouldn't be worried if I were you. I think it will be like learning another skill in a field you are familiar with.

I could relate it to math and say its like learning integrals after covering derivitives, as opposed to switching to a completely new concept like matrices. I hope I'm not scaring you away with the math talk though!

Good luck!