Note to New Members ×

Duty and Taxes

nadia

I'm new to the sport and perusing classified.

I've got a question for experienced BOL buyers:

What type of additional costs (duty, taxes, etc.) would you see shipping from the US to Canada, or back? For used boards/bindings/boots, etc?

Any ideas out there?

Thanks, and stay with the spring cleaning - keep the For Sale page flying!

I've sent a few boards and other items North, and from what I hear, your taxes will depend on the declared value...I always mark the package "GIFT" and lowball the value by about 1/2 (unless you're shipping insured, then you have to declare the amount you're insuring)

A $350 USD snowboard of 158 cm shipped from Vermont to Ontario cost $50 USD for shipping via UPS.

The seller sent it via UPS.

For that' date=' I paid an extra $100 CAD of fees and taxes to UPS when the snowboard was delivered.[/quote']

You got nailed by the infamous UPS customs clearance fee. Our shop ships a lot of product to Canada and will not use UPS for that reason. I can't get a straight answer as to why - UPS blames Canada and Canada says UPS is collecting the fee. It isn't charged for UPS expedited services.

Before we discovered the problem, we'd have a customer buying $150 snowboard pants and then paying something like $80 fees! Ironically, the pants (Powder Room) were made in Canada!

It' makes MUCH more sense to ship via UPS Priority Mail. Most of our domestic shipping is done via UPS but the unfair fee should discourage anyone from using the service to Canada.

About 30% of our business now is international. With the weak dollar, overseas buyers don't mind paying some import duties and shipping costs. When you consider that we have a lot of gear on closeout it makes a lot of sense for them to shop online from a US distributor. This past winter season I sold to 17 different countries including ski race body armor to Dubai!