Note to New Members ×

Video editing

JohnE

My buddy & I have many hours of GoPro videos chasing each other down the mountain. I think this perspective is called "tailgunning" but that's a misnomer. The tailgunner is the guy in the back of the bomber facing backward shooting at the attacker. This is more like pursuit video. 

Anyway I'd like to edit these down into more watchable video. I have no editing experience. It appears there are lots of free desktop computer editing software packages. Is it really just as easy as downloading the software and starting to play with it? Is it best to select some music first and pair the video with it or vice-versa?  Any suggestions on the best (easiest) editing software?

Thanks

Any video editing software beyond the most simple will have a significant learning curve.

The current GoPro Player didn't recognise my old GoPro Silver 3+ files, but did recognise my 8 Black.

Have used a range of free editors over the years and they have steadily grown in sophistication. Currently using the free version of DaVinci Resolve which has an enormous feature set, including colour grading and stabilisation, and will render in 4k. Given that the free version is the generation behind the current commercial version I hope to be using DVR for quite a while yet.

It is not the simplest out there, but it is basically a professional level feature set for free. As your needs grow you probably won't need to change software.

Music can be troublesome if you plan to post on YouTube etc. During the upload process YouTube will recognise tracks and flag if there are copyright issues.

• Like 1

It really is that easy. Easier if you don't shoot in bad light, and don't shoot stuff you won't/ can't use. Editing makes you more selective in what you shoot, because if you're not selective, editing is a lot of work. Learn to keep the camera off almost all the time, just turn it on when the light's good and something is happening.