Note to New Members ×

Carving at Jackson Hole - Questions

Mister Sandman

Hi to all

Beginning of year I have the possibility of spending a couple of days riding in JH.

Never been there before and I am fairly new at hard boots and carving. Been focusing at (trying) learning PureBoarding style.

I heard that slopes are rather steep, mostly powder, not too wide. Not really ideal for Pureboarding.

Is this accurate? If so, and considering my limited carving experience, would you recommend I take my Coiler and Heads from NY all the way over there or it will not be worth it and might as well just rent softies?

Thanks to all!

Mister Sandman

I've never ridden there either, so I feel fully qualified to tell you that there is good grooming and carving in some of the runs off the Casper quad, not too steep perhaps.  If you will be there for just a couple of days, it will be a gamble of whether or not good carving conditions exist during that window. 

• Like 1

I've spent a few days at Jackson Hole two years ago and can offer some perspective.  Most of the blue runs are cat tracks across the mountain.  The blacks are rarely groomed and are like chutes, narrow and steep.  Bring an "all mountain" board and ride soft boots for the versatility.  Leave your race deck with plate system at home.  Hope for snow and bring a powder board just in case.  You CAN use the Pureboarding style anywhere, but as a self proclaimed new to hard booting snowboarder, stick to what you know. 

Jackson Hole can be an awesome experience with the right equipment and mental outlook, but if you go there thinking there are wide open runs at moderate grade and perfect grooming, you will be disappointed.  There is one area that is PERFECT for carving and that is off Casper's lift, but that's about it.  Going there with a board that can handle groom, chop, and fluff in one run, being prepared for a skier's mountain with moguls almost everywhere, you can have a lot of fun.

• Like 1