Note to New Members ×

Swoard EC advice/feedback

ashychef1

Hi!

I am intrigued by the Swoard EC but don't know if it is definitely the board for me:confused:. I have been riding hard shells and alpine boards for 20 years. My favorite board ever was a 1996-97 Hot shine 162. I currently ride a 1995 +/- Rossi Alpine 159 which I love, but is obviously a bit long in the tooth and it is time to upgrade. I weigh 170#, am 5,9' and have 27 mondo raichle 124's. Anyone out there ride a Swoard? I like softer flexes and wider boards in general (my angles are 51 front 48 back), but don't know how there flexes compare to what I consider soft/hard. Any advice would be appreciated very much!!!! I live in Park City, so if there are any hardbooters around here let me know!!! :D

Ash

:)

Post in the Utah section to hook up with other riders in your area.

The basic shape of the Swoard was first drawn around the same time as your Rossi, and its construction just really isn't up to date with the current crop of alpine boards. You'd probably do really well with a used new school race board, they are sometimes quite wide because racers tend to prefer low angles. New boards in general have a lot of the good traits of a soft board, no awkward tippy low speed carves and they soak up bumps as if they are noodles- even if they aren't.

Edit: Just saw your other post, looks like you're aiming to buy new. Instead of getting the Swoard, get the Donek Proteus from Bomber for $100 more. Donek's stuff is cutting edge and gets revised multiple times per season. Going from that Rossi to a board like the Proteus is like going from driving a shopping cart to a race car.

Edited by KingCrimson

Thanks for the tips guys! I will follow up on them.

P.S. King crimson-love the dancing bear!

Ash