Note to New Members ×

To Goofy or Not to Goofy........

eaglez

I was wondering if anyone has ever switched their bindings from regular stance and enjoying it, to goofy stance to see how the difference feels?

I have been riding regular for 10 years and I am comfortable and it feels right. But I was thinking of switching things around for a change. Anyone else done this?

Thanks

D. :biggthump

Seriously...that is how I learned to ride switch years ago...spent about three days with the binders goofy - I'm regular...worked like a charm! :biggthump

Admittedly, that doesn't sound like a bad idea, but I probably wouldn't venture off the bunny slope and wear body armor nonetheless ... still sounds hellacious though.

I say try it. On a bunny slope. And bring tools so that if it proves to be a pain in the ass, you can switch back without taking an extra trip to the car. (With Bombers you only need one hex key.)

I bet you'll be linking turns (awkwardly :) ) on the first day. Worst case, you will at least get used to the way it feels to have that foot forward, and you'll have an easier time learning to ride backward with your usual stance.

Back in my freeride-board days I took a couple runs switch just to prove to myself that I could do it. I ride switch on my alpine boards to keep from getting bored when I'm on mellow slopes. All it takes is practice.

There is precisely one valid reason you might want to do this: if you feel you are not as good as you could be, and you cannot progress.

If you run and slide on some ice, or on your kitchen floor in your socks, which foot do you put forward? That is how you should stand on your snowboard.

If your run-and-slide stance is the same as your snowboard stance, then forget about it. The only other reason for doing this is so you can tell a good story in the bar apres-ski.

Hi jack hows things in Mainiac land?