Note to New Members ×

Hard boots for freeride and powder

Przemek/Brooklyn

Hi

I am looking for advice. Currently I am using HB for carving and SB for backcountry, but to be honest i feel it is too commplicated and take too much time and effort change and it is pain in the ass to travel with extra boots.

Here is my question: can hardboots work ok in powder for freeride. If yes what kind of board do you use for this? Do you lower angles in HB setup for powder?

Thanks

Yes! I've been riding hardboots for everything for about 5 years. It may be overkill to use hard boots in powder - you don't really <i>need</i> that much response, but if you're used to hard boots, it's more comfortable, and like you said, why bother carrying multiple boots around?

I ride powder/trees on a O-Sin 4807 178 and if I'm going somewhere a little bit tighter, sometimes a 162 Arbor Munoz freeride board. I ride much flatter angles than on a carving board - basically I try to put the heel and toe of my back foot right at the edges, and then put the front foot 5 degrees steeper than that.

I ride soft "when I feel like it" but hard on most powder days. I hear what Phil Fell and others are saying "right tool for the right job" but I guess my powder riding just isn;t advanced enough for hard boots to be the wrong tool? In any case I use a BTS with blue springs on my Suzukas, so no walk mode or anything is possible, but I do leave the upper two buckles several notches looser on a powder day than I do on a groomer day.

There are several of us using some sort of hardboot/freeride board combo. Last trip up to Stevens Pass, I found another guy using A/T boots on a freeride board, an Arbor 166, he was on Catek OS2's. I was on my F2 with Snowpro race bindings and Dynfit TLT4's. Very common around here.