Note to New Members ×

Carving technique on a Coiler 10/12/11 radius?

Freezer

I recently got a new board from Bruce which is a EC 173x22, 10/12/11 sidecut, and it's pretty different from the previous Coilers I've been riding for the last 10 years, so I'm looking for some input on technique.  My previous Coilers were a Stubby V1 with something like a 13/14 sidecut, and an EC 168 12/13.  I ride mostly in NorCal and the runs tend to be on the steeper, narrower side, and the snow conditions can be variable.  I got the EC 173 to be able to make shorter turns to keep speed under control and make carving on steeper, narrow runs a bit less exhausting.   Based on my previous boards and the terrain I ride, and in order to make tight turns, I've gotten into the habit of weighting the nose heavily for turn initiation, then feeding the board forward, and then weighting the tail heavily to almost wheelie the board to switch sides.  I angulate a lot and reach for the front of the board with my outside hand on steeper runs to keep the turn tight and keep from skidding out of the carve on choppy snow.  The problem is that I've found that technique doesn't seem to work so well with the 172, I'm assuming because I don't need to shift my weight so dramatically fore and aft to get a tight turn.  If I do, I almost go over the bars on turn initiation, and on turn finish get a bit jammed in the back seat.  So I believe that I just need to ride the board more centered and be more judicious with weight shifts.  What do you guys think?  Any body with experience on a board with similar sidecut?

Your EC sounds like the XT VSR sidecut that I have on an AM board. Tons of fun on narrow runs, but can still open up if you get some more room.