Note to New Members ×

Comparing Snowboards - a spreadsheet

JRAZZ

I would say that my day job is 95% Excel but that would be a gross understatement.

Anyway, using spreadsheets causes you to see the world in a tabular way (e.i. when you have a hammer everything is a nail)

So naturally, trying to make sense of the world I tried to compare snowboards using a spreadsheet. This endeavor is bound to fail simply because the flex characteristics of the board matter so much and I have no way to measure that. I doubt this is a meaningful comparison but it still is a fun activity (for me at least - don't judge).

1807802687_SnowboardComparison.PNG.ec294890027b70305e15df6cfd7d8486.PNG

This spreadsheet is comprised of snowboards that I own or have owned and have been able to measure. Feel free to open and add your own. Please add only board that you have measured. I find that what manufacturers report can vary wildly! (for example, Bruce is spot on while Never Summer lie outright)

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Spgu8msUnKMVzKMjE0_3O0DFbbgra67Kv4LKfoiF4QE/edit?usp=sharing

Measure the following::

• Overall length (cm)
  • Effective Edge (cm) - the distance between the widest point in the nose to the widest point in the tail
  • Sidecut (m) - this is the reported sidecut - whatever the manufacturer says
  • Waist (cm) - the narrowest part of the board
  • Tip width (cm) - the widest part of the tip
  • Tail width (cm) - the widest part of the tail
  • The last 3 cells are calculated automatically.

I sorted the list by the calculated sidecut/effective edge (as a measure of "turniness"). I figure that this is a good a place as any to start.  I don't know if this has any real value - maybe someone with more experience can tell me if this is a valid comparison and if the sorting method makes sense.

• Like 1

I put the sidecut as reported. Look at the Coiler up there. That column is more for information.