Note to New Members ×

Board suggestions for big guy

Bearlong

I'm trying to switch from soft boot to hard booting. I've been boarding since 1994 and love to go fast and carve. Last week I was at Camelback in PA and saw a bunch of alpine boarders racing. Watching them carve put me over the edge. I've been reading everything I can about hardbooting and am ready to purchase. Hoping to find a solid used board to get started. Any suggestions on boards, bindings, boots etc? I'm 6'0" and 250 pounds but am in pretty good shape. Thanks for any and all advice!

Hey Big Bear. Nothing like carving a trench so deep and watching skiers fall into it! First off, you will need a board that will be able to hold your big bones on east coast conditions. Custom will probably be the way to go. Talk to the guys that make them here on the forum, they will give you the right info. Bindings, TD3 step ins will hold you, they are very strong. The East Coast Expression Session is being held at Stratton at the end of this month. Demo gear and ride with other carvers, should be fun.

• Like 1

TD 3 for sure (TD 2 will work too if you want to save some dough)

Boots will be the toughest thing to figure out.... I tried prob 10 different pairs till I decided the Head Stratos Pro's fit me the best but they don't make them anymore....

Id say try and find a used custom Coiler or Donek from a BOL member. There are some stronger guys on this forum that have some pretty beefy boards avail from time to time.

Beginner? East coast? 20 years soft boot experience but Im guessing no formal instruction?

Yea, you're looking at a slalom board. Look around for a stock older SL board in the 166 or 163 range from the likes of F2, Nidecker, Oxygen, Volkl, Rossignol, Burton, Hot. Absolute max is something in the very low 170s with a sidecut no bigger than 12 maybe 13 meters.