Note to New Members ×

Bomber Boiler Plate 4mm Lite

I just received my new Bomber Boiler Plate 4mm lite. I'm sharing my first time experience.

The quality and workmanship look great! I did have to sand and polish the front axle slider top aluminium (silver) cover because it was causing the black plastic slider piece to bind slightly. One side was smooth, this other side was very sticky. It didn't take much. It looks as if the two counter-sunk drill holes might be slightly off, by a hair? The plate probably would have been fine, but it bothered me, so I fixed it.

I've never used a plate system before. I watched the how to video from Bomber and just went by the book for the set-up: Used wonderbar; Center the axle over the 'center' of the board (which had a 25mm setback); Mount the bindings to the plate as usual. I was using TD2's, which fit on the plate quite well, clear of those rounded bolts on the top. I do have a relatively 'old school' narrow stance @ 18" (I'm 5'10")

I LOVE how quickly it is to transfer the plate from board to board while keeping all the details exactly the same. Even without a 2nd board set-up, it's still cake to just transfer the whole plate. Easier than moving the TD2 bindings from board to board without a plate. A 2nd board set-up would be money if you got money and not time...

I don't know why... but my first few turns were nervous and didn't feel good. But, nervous turns never feel good... So, I got over it and drove the board in as I should... no problems.

The plate might have made the board a little stiffer on slow turns like the ones right off the lift, but didn't seem to affect the turning radius at all in normal to hard turns.

The snow was spring conditions... groomers had their moments, but lots of uneven corn, hard pack, and some sort of semi-frozen yogurt. I could tell immediately that the plate was really smoothing out the ride. Pretty impressive, I thought to myslef...