Note to New Members ×

Advice on getting into racing

john44526

I have been snowboarding for over 10 years but just started with hardboots last season, so im far from the greatest. but i would like to give racing a go because it seems like fun. basically im asking how do you get into it, do i just show up on a race day and pay a fee, do i have to pre-register, or maybe i cant do it at all etc... any advice would be appreciated

currently i am 25 and i live closest to mountain creek, hunter etc... mainly looking to do slalom or GS

I'd look at the event calendars or look up the racing on the websites of the resorts you typically visit. Most likely the information you're asking for is there or an email where you can find out the information will be present.

If one of the hills runs NASTAR you can typically just show up, sign your forms, pay a small fee and race, if you don't mind ski gates and for starting out it really shouldn't matter that much.

Most races will be skiers but I've yet to find a group that wouldn't at least let me run... after all I'm a slowboarder.

Also calling and asking about racing. :-)

Definitely NASTAR. Here's a link to the resorts that offer it.

Also, look into the Mt. Dew Vertical Challenge series.

Where in New York are you? If you can make it to Okemo in southern Vermont, come run our NASTAR course. On most weekends I'll set one course with stubbies for boarders.

Funny. I was using the term ski racers use for snowboarders. I beat my fair share of the two-stickers, that said no way am I going to keep up with the better ski racers at my home NASTAR course.

But I care not... I love racing, a slope all to myself with no speed limits. I love to take carving runs through the gates. :eplus2:

Edited by lonbordin
Only had 116 recorded runs throught the gates this season. I'll have to try harder.