Note to New Members ×

Binding angles and overhang for newb

GarrettDN

So I have a whopping 1 day on snow. I have 29.5M boots and big feet. I'm 73 inches tall.

I started my day with binding angles of 51/45. That was just too uncomfortable. I switched to 51/39 and all was well. However, I have toe and heel overhand at that setting. Specifically, I can get the board up to a theoretical 76 degrees before I will have drag. The way I see it I have 4 options:

1) Get smaller feet

2) Get a wider board

3) higher binding angles

4) Accept it for now

I didn't feel any drag or anything, but I'm a total rookie. I imagine I'll get laying out a little more within a few sessions.

Is 76 degrees something I'm likely to eclipse soon?

Long term I think I would probably order a custom board, but is like 23Cm too wide for a caving stick?

I think if I up the binding angles I'll need to keep that 10-15 degree difference from front to rear or it is just to uncomfortable for me.

I'm looking for any intermediate/advanced/experts who have had this debate/issue before, I imagine (?) it isn't too uncommon.

Personal opinion. This is without seeing the board, boots, or bindings you are riding.

Splay (the angle difference between your front and rear foot) is a function of your body geometry. Basically you have to work with what you've got or it won't be comfortable.

If you are comfortable; I'd run the angles you are currently running until you start experiencing boot out. At that point I'd look at increasing your angles.

I've got mondo 28 feet and have carving decks 20 (NSR), 21 (Schtubby) and 24.5 (Incline) centimeters wide. Though the last one is more of an AM board, I can still drag my butt on a heelside without any difficulty. The only thing I've found I give up with wider boards is the speed at which I can switch edges.