Note to New Members ×

other boards that can support plates?

Guest Ninjette

Guest Ninjette

By the looks of some of the recent posts/threads it appears as though some of you are running plates on not necessarily alpine specific boards. From what I have read there are some valid concerns in doing this such as the inserts, delamination, weight, riding style and whether the board is able to support plates at all.....

So here is my question.....which non specific alpine boards would be able to do this ?

The reason I ask is that I work at a shop and am able to prodeal/proform boards from certain vendors depending on availability (unfortunately none of the vendors or boards are alpine/carve specific)... so here are my vendor options Ride, K2, Salomon, Palmer, Arbor, Burton, and possibly Winterstick and Nitro. I know that I will be dropping the money for some td2 as well as boots. (I am going back and forth between the SB 413 and the Lemans). I am still a beginner at this and have a regular carving board that a friend is letting me use indefinitely. But late last season, I had the opportunity to take out and all mountain carving board (a Speedcross 154) and I absolutely LOVED it. Being able to go in all kinds of conditions was awesome and it looks as though this is the direction I would like to take. I would like to go for a slightly longer board maybe 157 -158 as my regular freeride board is a 154 and a bit more length maybe kind of nice? At 5'5" 135, I am by no means petite nor am I an amazon so I do not think pulling out the inserts would be a problem..nor am I super aggressive (I need to take a lesson this year)