Note to New Members ×

is ski resorts super spreader events?

west carven

How I feel is immaterial. I’m not an expert so my opinion is also bunk but here’s what I think:

Here in CO approximately 1 in 40 is considered contagious. You are virtually guaranteed to be in a line with a contagious person during the day. Both of you might be breathing hard so that’s another strike. 
OTOH: you’re outside, usually with wind. Hopefully all are wearing masks. Usually people don’t go skiing if they’re not feeling well so I expect the population to be somewhat less contagious than the average. What does all of this mean? Who knows... 

Ultimately no, it’s not safe. You are definitely increasing your chance of contracting COVID by going to a resort. You have to make the personal decision if snowboarding is important enough for you. 

• Like 1

My concern isn't so much on hill contact it's getting to the entrance of the resort. Being screened and ok'd by the bouncers and having to linger where large groups have mingled and left their moist air. The lineup to get to the gondola at Sunshine Village was snaking through 7 lines of parked cars in the #1 parking lot .Time in line was between 1-1 1/2 hrs. on the weekend. You have to ride the gondola to get to the resort. I'm thinking mandating true half cost half day lift tickets could go a long way to reduce these kind of lineups. Seems to me the choice will be to cherry pick the snow conditions or lineup contact conditions. 

3 hours ago, lowrider said:

The lineup to get to the gondola at Sunshine Village was snaking through 7 lines of parked cars in the #1 parking lot .Time in line was between 1-1 1/2 hrs. on the weekend. 

Jeez, buddy, when were you there? Sunshine gets busy, but I've never seen it that busy.