Note to New Members ×

good boots for hard racing snowboard..?

fanatic

hi guys,

recently I have decided to learn how to snowboard and I have a old snowboard like 10 years old but it's a racing snowboard. It's Fanatic brand, 180cm (5.9). I'm 186cm.

I am using the ski boots from my ski but they are not very good fitting my legs.

If you can see it in the picture, it looks like they are loose at the top. (they are fitted on maximum but there is a lot of space for my hand to freely enter the space)

I was reading this forum for a while and I understand that I shouldn't be using the ski boots for snowboard.

My question is: is there any good boot what I can use on the snowboard and also for skiing?

Or, because I am just a beginner, should I buy some board with the soft bindings?

Also, I tried a freestyle snowboard with a soft binding, but the shoe (it was from a rental) was a loose at the top.

Shouldn't be the shoe firm on the top?

thanx for your advices .)

rrruka.jpg

Edited by fanatic

Blue B?

You can stuff some closed cell  foam in there to fill the gap and with a Velcro booster strap, which you can make yourself you can close the gap.

Where are you in Europe?

What bindings are you using? How wide is board? What angles are you using?

Usually it is easier to learn with a boot that is not to stiff.

Those boots look to be very soft-flexing (I think it says 60-70 flex on the cuff, but I can't quite make it out). You can change where the cuff buckles mount, either by drilling new holes, or using ones provided. That will allow the cuff to close down further. Maybe that'll do the trick. Foam and/or a "spoiler" (wedge at the top rear of the cuff) might be necessary in addition if the cuff still won't close down far enough.

While you're at it, check the overall fit as follows.