Note to New Members ×

Big Road Trip - seeking suggestions, ideas, advice, possible lodging, etc.

FTA2R

Hey All,

So I'm a federal contractor and unfortunately our customer can no longer afford us. Looks like they are closing down our account (at least for a while). I'm quite overdue for a vacation and have wanted to see this beautiful land of ours- ideally on a big road trip- for some years. I'm beginning to seriously contemplate a road trip. I have a feeling a number of you have done big road trips. Does anyone have any suggestions for themes or destinations? I feel like it would be good for a bit of "soul cleansing," too. DC is a very go-getter, fast past, competitive town...it would be nice to not be on the Internet and not have any concerns for at least a week or so.

I'd likely be leaving from the DC area. I've been to most of the east coast and a number of place in Cali. I haven't been to most of the midwest, southwest, deep south, or pac NW.

I'd really like to see some famous sites (maybe Mt. Rushmore and Grand Canyon) and parks, or just some great scenery.

I don't see myself on the road for more than 10 days and I'd be fine with driving to one coast and flying back home (if I do decide to go coast to coast).

Does anyone have any suggestions? I'd likely be going solo.

Oh, if you're willing to host me for a night, that would be awesome! I'd be a polite guest.

I've been pretty quiet on this site for a few seasons now, but a number of other members that I've ridden with or done transactions with can vouch for me (as well as good ole Uncle Sam!).

Barry

Lucky you. Sounds like a great opportunity.

I drove the coast road/101 from Vancouver to San Fran 18 months ago, and loved it. Unfortunately it was a rush trip, but what I saw of Oregon and Washington was spectacular, and I really want to go back in the summer.