Note to New Members ×

Chopped up narrow steeps: is it me or my equipment?

Derf

When I went riding yesterday, I tried to apply what I read here in order to go down narrow steeps. In addition to that, it is a weekend, so conditions got chopped up quickly. I have a Nitro GTX 166 (with a 9,5 m sidecut radius) with Catek OS1 and Burton Furnace boots. I am 5'8" and weight 160 lbs. I have been snowboarding since 1993, riding alpine since 1997 and trying to improve since 2003-2004 (when I discovered BomberOnline). I ride on average 5-7 days a year.

So when I get down the slope, I try to stay low, bends the knees (and keep them seperated) and try to take the whole width of the slope, but I still can't bleed of enough speed to get down without skidding to keep my speed down. I try to angulate more to get a tighter turning radius, but during the process the board gets too much speed, so when I get low enough, the board is going fast so the turning radius is bigger and thus, I can't get prependicular to the fall line fast enough. In other words, I can't get low unless I go fast, and I need to get low to turn tighter, so when I get low, I am going too fast to make tight turns. It's even harder because I have to absorb the irregularities of the terrain.

I am wondering: is my technique bad, am I lacking experience or is my board too stiff? I feel that my board need lots of input to turn properly and needs to be ridden on the tail (my stance is at the reference stance: 25 mm back). I am starting to wonder if my board is too stiff for me or if am just not good enough? Like I said, I can turn it, but need to work hard to do it. Even when I go down a wide green and I am getting low (by bending the knees, not at the waist), the turning radius is large (in my opinion) for a 9.5 m board.