Note to New Members ×

soft boot setup for non-carving days

John K

Boots-hmmmm, try on alot and be wary of heel lift.

Bindings-well, I have to say buying Burton P1C's with capstraps was the most comfortable softie setup decision I made when I rode with a soft setup. My old synchros caused alot of toe numbness with the toe straps because I would ratchet them down very hard to make up for the mongo heel lift I was getting. The capstraps go over the front of the boots...

Alternatively, look at Flow bindings.......

Boards....that depends on if you like stiff or soft rides.....

Burtons-nice but not durable

Never Summers-nice, durable, heavy

Ride-the ones I've ridden were nice but I only demo'd

also, many alpine manufacturers make freestyle boards too-Donek, Prior, Nidecker....

also, I'm not too technical so "nice" means a soft board with alot of pop to me

;)

I used K2 clickers for 4 years until the cleat on one of the boots tore from the sole last year. I replaced the boots but had the same failure after my first use. With the clicker line being discontinued I had to start over.

Three things I liked about the setup were the firm forward flex provided by the boot (Transformer model), the BOA cable lacing system, and the fact that I did not have to sit down to strap in. I wanted to retain those qualities in a new setup.

I went with Flow Aviator boots because they have the BOA and were advertised as a stiff, big mountain boot. After a few weeks of use I'm very pleased. They are light yet stiff. The forward flex is comfortably progressive. Having tried on Burton Riders I felt they were stiff but when pushed too far the body of the boot would deform causing pressure points on the top of the foot. The aviator flex is much smoother and can be controlled more easily through the BOA lacing.