Note to New Members ×

Donek sizing

skatha

As I write this, know that I need ankle surgery so there is no rush-I will be on "IR" for about 3 months....

I was looking at the Nidecker Proto-the 159 size since I weigh about 135 lbs

The new Nidecker line-the Proto is apparently the "NBX"now, but, at least by the website, is looking more like a freestyle board than a carving board.

I already have a freestyle board...

So, onto Donek....

The freecarve board looks pretty sweet but the shortest length is 163. Is this too long?

I'm 5'5" tall and I'm pretty muscular for a female-swimming in college for the university team will do that for you, plus lifting weights for about 15 years, too-and we won't count the long distance bike races I've been doing since 1992....

That would really be a better question for Sean. But he has a lot of choice that maybe you're not aware of - if you look at the specifications of the Race model, there are a ton of custom templates already done in various lengths and stiffnesses, surely something in there would be suitable for you. Pop him an email or phone call, he's a very helpful guy.

"The new Nidecker line-the Proto is apparently the "NBX"now, but, at least by the website, is looking more like a freestyle board than a carving board."

Actually, the Proto is plain GONE. The NBX is the old Project TM - that board's dimensions haven't really changed. Freeride shape - NOT a freestyle deck - much stiffer, different construction, different application. This is their BX board. The thing actually rails very nice for a wide-ish board.

Skatha: