Note to New Members ×

Stance, etc…

Snowgirl

Hi all, I just got my very first alpine snowboard. What is the normal beginner degree that you would recommend for my bindings? Also how far apart do I want my bindings? I am new to everything, so everything feels strange to me. If anyone has any tips/tricks for first timers let me know! Thanks! 

Welcome!!  Here's a quick start guide:

Stance width should be about 2/3 of your inseam measurement (crotch to floor).  Center your stance relative to the center set of inserts in the board.

Binding angles should be chosen such that your boots do not overhang (stick out) past the edges of the board.  For your first few days you can tolerate a little overhang.  Front binding angle should be about 3-5 degrees higher than the back binding angle.

Hopefully your bindings are adjustable for toe/heel lift and lateral cant.  A good place to start is with toe lift on your front binding, heel lift on your back binding, and no cant.  Adjust to taste after riding.

It would be great if you could take a hardboot lesson with The G Team, they're in Minnesota.

https://www.thegteam.com/home

Some further reading:

http://alpinesnowboarder.com/tech-articles/

• Like 1

Jack's instructions above are a simple and reasonable start point.

Binding angles are generally aimed to get the toe and heel of your boots as close to the edge of the board as possible, but without the overhang referred to above. That allows you to more easily get the board onto either edge, but not have your boot toe or heel drag in the snow as you arc through a carved turn with your board high on its edge.

Bindings usually are adjustable for the position of both the toe and heel, and depending on how your boot sits in the binding, you may want to move the boot either forward or back in the binding in order to get both the toe and heel as close as possible to the edge.