Note to New Members ×

UPZ RC8 vs RC10, carving and skiing?

1xsculler

I have no experience with the RC10, but since it is stiffer than the RC8, it would in all probability be better for skiing, with neither being a really good ski boot. You should also be aware that fore-aft stiffness of the UPZ boots changes significantly with the tongue. I noticed a big difference even between black (second softest) and red (softest).

The RC8 are a bit softer then the RC10 but the real difference is made by the tongues.

The RC10 have thinner liners

I have the RC8 with red tongue and a spring system in the rear, awesome but a lot of friends use RC10 (with red tongue and spring system).

I change the original liner with a Palau liner (lighter and better than original).

If you are a racer, RC10 but if you are a carver, RC8.

For skiing I don't use UPZ but ski boots.

• Like 1

The RC10 have thinner liners

Really? I got the impression that the liners are identical for both models, though there may be changes from one year to the next. Also, the UPZ price list has only one type of flo liner, AFAIK.

Edited by Aracan

Palau is an aftermarket, full wrap liner.  I had Palua in my T700's and they are now in my UPZ RC10.

http://www.palau-boutique.com/overlap-soft-ski-boot-liners-palau,us,4,PAL-OVSOFT.cfm#

I use dedicated SKI boots if and when I ski.  I tried carving one time with ski boots and they were painfully stiff.  Ski boots can fit into standard alpine bindings (usually).  But Alpine boots will not fit into today's ski bindings.

From the archives: Alpine snowboarding hard boots vs. Regular Ski boots http://forums.bomberonline.com/index.php?/topic/36641-alpine-snowboarding-hard-boots-vs-regular-ski-boots/

Edited by Pat Donnelly

Really? I got the impression that the liners are identical for both models, though there may be changes from one year to the next. Also, the UPZ price list has only one type of flo liner, AFAIK.

Sorry, you are correct.