Note to New Members ×

Advice for buddy switching from skiing to softbooting?

Dan

Hi all, I have a friend who's switching to snowboarding from skiing, and I'm trying to help him with gear selection. I don't really track softie gear much, so don't have a good handle on where to steer him -- thought I could tap the collective BOL hive mind.

I've never seen him ski, but he did grow up skiing (in CO), so I imagine he's at least fairly solid. Starting him out on hardboots just doesn't seem realistic, so I'll be looking for softboot gear, and thinking of a freeride setup rather than park/pipe. He's willing to spend more to get gear that he can hold onto for awhile, rather than getting low-end stuff that he'll have to replace in a season or two.

He's pretty much an absolute beginner on the board -- I think he got about 3 days on rental equipment last season, and that's it. He weighs about 140, and is about 5' 10".

So...what should I be looking at for boots, bindings and board?

-Boots - Are Malamutes/drivers still the standard?

-Bindings - I found some Flow M11s from last season at a pretty good price -- any thoughts on those bindings, or any other suggestions?

-Board - this is the part where I have the most questions. Given that he's on the lighter side, should I be looking at more of an all-mountain deck (i.e., something softer, easier to flex) rather than a stiffer dedicated freeride board? Is the 158-162 range the right length? Should I put him on a rocker board -- would that be easier to learn on? Any suggestions here? Probably looking for new boots/bindings, but he might be open to a used board.

Hah, good question. To tell the truth, I'm too lazy to take him through the learning curve. This is someone who is not aware that hardbooting exists.