Note to New Members ×

Who's FASTER...skier or boarder???

Alaskan Rover

Yep...back to that age-old question again. I am sure that question has been kicked around since the first boarders lived in caves and had to ditch wooly mammoths on their way down the slopes...maybe the question even goes back to the paleozoic era.

Who's faster...snowboarder or skier??? Skier or snowboarder???....that question spins around and around in my head and sometimes has even more import than whether Brad is going to get back together with Jennifer.

I guess it's an obvious question to ask...as there does seem to be a gear-polarity on the slopes and steeps.

As for me, my background is in ski racing...but I switched over to boarding years ago because of love. Oh, I loved racing and skiing, don't get me wrong...it's just that after that initial 5 days of butt-aching, tortured vileness was over, I began to love boarding even more. I loved the innate poetry of it.

But, still that question of which is ultimately, potentially, faster has always roosted on shoulder...squaking into my ear every now and then when some high-speed racer flashes by in perfect GS form. In these instances, I almost ALWAYS give chase...hard for me not to...mpossible actually. About as hard as telling a greyhound NOT to chase that metal rabbit. The chase was ingrained in me by umpteen race coaches and dare i say, my own desire. Sometimes I end up winning, sometimes I end up losing, but I almost always give chase.