Note to New Members ×

Computer: Yet another hard drive or online archive service?

Jack M

I'm at a crossroads here, all my hard drives are full. Should I buy yet another hard drive or just start paying the piper for an online archive service? I need this for photography - ~25mb per image! I am a smugmug pro user, so I would get smugvault if I go that route.

Guess I could start moving the really old stuff to DVD... but that seems like putting all my eggs in one basket, and don't DVDs degrade over time? (not just scratches, but actual material breakdown)

Any experiences to share? Thanks.

Buy some Network Attached Storage NAS

a Pogoplug.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2357421,00.asp

and some desktop drives:

http://www.lacie.com/us/products/range.htm?id=10033

is one way to go.

A full on NAS setup is also rockin'

http://www.lacie.com/us/products/product.htm?pid=11118

Note: There are many other brands I just picked LaCie as I'm familiar with their equipment and I'm slack.

It would be my pogoplug with a Drobo. Then I would have the RAID backup and expandable, able to get to it anywhere in the world, sharable AND the best part is that I don't have a monthly service charge. The cheapest way you're going to get storage bytes is with your own HDs but you want to make sure they are redundant.

Of course if you want to make sure they can withstand a fire then you need to get them offsite or make up some fireproof contraption for your Drobo. :-)

Being able to access my files while away from home isn't really the concern, but that's a neat idea.

Right now I have NAS via my Airport Extreme wireless router base station, which has a USB 2.0 port. Hang a USB drive or a USB hub + many drives off that and presto, instant NAS. The transfer rate is not nearly as fast as just plugging a USB drive right into the computer though.