Note to New Members ×

need advice on a board

caspercarver

i carve by the seat of my pants. I just carve by feel. So I'm not very good with the technical side. What i think i want is a Donek Axis 162 cm. to replace my failing F2 beamer. I want to change the scr from 8.9 to 8.5 scr. I want to turn fast and tight, i want to make as many turns from point A to B. I want a soft flex like the F2. I want to go from the harder flex of the Axis to a softer flex of the Donek Pheonix. I don't want to have to work to hard, I'm gettin old. I also want but don't know how to achieve, a board that when un-wieghted pops you into the air. What's your opinion on this? why this will work or won't? Or any suggestions i haven't thought of? I am currently about 145lbs and 5' 10" and almost always on softer hardpack, I live in Jackson, Wyoming, so a lot of snow and not much ice. Thanks. :biggthump

I think Donek should be able to hook you up pretty well. While I am a huge Coiler fan, I think the "board that when un-wieghted pops you into the air" would steer you away from metal (and last I talked to Bruce that was all he was making - but this may have changed). Best idea is call Sean Martin or Bruce V and talk to them.

See if you can hook-up with Ace (He's in CO now) and ride the Coiler X-4.

It's probably not exactly what you want, but really, really close.

If, for whatever reason, you do end up going with a metal construction, you can go with a much larger side cut radius. The metal boards that I've riden (all Coilers) could be cranked down to tighten up a turn with way less effort than a glass board. I would think this would give you a more versitile board.

YMMV,

-Mark

I don't want to have to work to hard, I'm gettin old.

Then you want metal.

I also want but don't know how to achieve, a board that when un-wieghted pops you into the air.

Then you want glass.