Note to New Members ×

Pulled muscle now a bruise?

Jrobb

So last weekend (Sat) I bailed in such amanner worthy of an Oscar in some of the fluffy fluff and pulled a muscle in my arm. I think it runs under the bicept from armpit to elbow...possibly one of the tricepts. Anyway, it hurt like a typical pulled muscle or a real bad cramp. Rode the rest of the day and was still able to use it but raising my arm over myhead took a few minutes. It's feeling better...a lot better now but today I noticed a bruise from armpit to elbow in the same area of the origional pain. I have never pulled a muscle this bad and am not sure if I need to see a doc about this. I know there are a few around here (I think) that may be able to help with some advice.

Here is a pic with link to larger image (click pic):The area outlined is the bruised area.

ZAEMW-IIFNN-bruise.JPG

any suggestions? I've tried ice but should I see my Doc?

J

I'm not a doctor but I work with high performance sports team and we encouter, pulls, bruises frequently.

My best advice is You need continue icing (15 min max) for every hour.

You can take some Advil - motrin or if you have access to anti inflamatory it might help you.

If you have access to an Hyper baric chamber you'll be able to get make the swelling go away faster ;)

Other wise you can go with this simple principle.

I : ice

C : Compression (start elastic wrap from elbow toward shoulder) Don't keep the compression at night.

E : Elevation

I hope this helps. Seeing a doctor is a good idea. Unless it's like here in Quebec where you have to wait 6-10 hours at the emergency. You probably know your body best, if you say it's unlike anything you've had before I would consult for sure.

csquared: if you don't have anything intelligent to add don't waste your time posting.

You forgot the R... It should be RICE.. Rest, Ice, Compression and Elevation. Don't forget to NOT use your arm cause you don't want to keep tearing it..