Note to New Members ×

Newbie needs some binding advise>

bob knox

I have been searching the archives, and I'm starting to get freaked out about used/cheap bindings. I recently purchased a Donek FC1 from Starting gate (thanks Shawn), but now I need bindings. My wife had an absolute FIT when she found out I bought the board, so dropping another $290 on bindings will have me sleeping in the car. I'm looking at the F2 RS and Ibex setups with an eye on the classifieds for TD2's or Catek's. I'm a bit hesitant to buy used since I have no experience of what to look for in terms of abuse/failure points. Any and all input would be greatly appreciated. I'm 6' and 150 lbs, been skiing for 25+ years, and yes, I plan on taking a lesson as soon as I have my board together.

Waiting for more snow in NH,

Bob K.

I'll try to help you out as best I can based on what I've read on these forums. also, on that note, try using the search function -- there's a lot of info here to be found, it's just difficult sifting through all of it sometimes.

so, to summarized what i've read:

-At 150 pounds, you probably shouldn't have to worry about binding failures

-at your skill level, you probably won't be flexing and over stressing those bindings

-in short, you probably don't need the full aluminum construction found in bomber td2 or catek os2

-F2 bindings or other non-full alum will do. be wary of some models of burton plate bindings (some are more reliable than others). raichle x-bones is anotehr good candidate, and i can't think of any others

-along the lines of F2 vs burton, i'd go with F2 bindings instead since you'll have much better part support should you need to do maintenance down the line