Note to New Members ×

Boot advice needed

patmoore

I've been riding my Head Strato Pros since 2006 and they've seen better days.  The screws holding the gray toe lugs have fallen out a couple of times and walking on pavement for eighteen years has worn down the heels. I have the Orange (soft) tongue and have had some plastic cut out to make the boots even more flexible.  The boots have Fintec heels but I find the bindings a bit too stiff for racing.  Getting older I may find myself going back to step-ins so any boot I buy should be compatible.

I've been looking at the Deeluxe 325 and wondering if that or something else would be suitlable.  

For those that don't know me, I'm 77 and enjoy racing and riding the blue cruisers.  I've never been able to get really low but still have the dream of accomplishing that goal.  I split my time racing on board and skis and am currently ranked #6 in the nation in my NASTAR age group on skis.  In boarding I've outlived most of my competition.  Frequently I have to make a quick boot change at competitions.  I have run my board in my Lange RS 130 race boots with the top buckle unbuckled but it's still really stiff.  I've also used a pair of Dalbello Kryptons for both but it's not the best solution.  

Your thoughts?

boardandski(2020_06_0909_43_06UTC).jpeg.34634d84a8fd6a5bfa2be3ae9012be33.jpeg

Edited by patmoore

It seems that you, like me, prefer a boot with lots of fore/aft flex. The UPZ boots can be softened admirably if you use softer tongues (the softest ones used to be red) and a soft aftermarket spring system such as the DGSS.

I also find they offer good heel hold and enough wiggle room for my toes, while the symmetrical Deeluxe shell (such as the 325) was a painful opposite.

• Like 1

I am a big fan of UPZ as well.  I'm riding the RC12, but they have a model called the XCR which has a softer lower shell. And I believe comes stock with a softer tongue than the RC series. That might be the ticket for you.