Note to New Members ×

Anyone modified their heel lift like this?

CB Utah

Just saw this while perusing EBay.  I like a lot of heel lift but I would think the bindings and hardware may not have been designed for such double stack goodness.  Thinking about leverage and other factors but I’m not an engineer.  

Full disclosure, using @philw’s clever idea, I modified my F2 titanium plates and the Burton hardware to mount to the Burton Channel system and happily rode that binding set-up so I guess I’m tossing a few stones around glass houses.   

Thoughts?

IMG_5296.jpeg

IMG_5295.jpeg

Have tried 9 degrees rear heel lift on Bomber TD3 step ins, using a 6 degree disc and 3 degree wedging under the toe and heel pieces. The F2 setup pictured gives about 8 degrees lift. I used 306 stainless steel joint connector bolts with M6 threads as my fastenings. Was using it to try using a longer stance.

Have gone back to 6 degrees, in part because I found as I lengthened my stance there was a point beyond which it was harder to both rotate my trunk to face towards the nose of the board and harder to get my weight over the front foot when I wanted to.

Also found that if I tried to use that kind of lift on the front foot that my board would keep trying to slide away from me when I tried to step in. Wouldn't be an issue with a bail binding.

With Intec bindings that should not be too bad for the loading on the binding, the Intec heels just transfer the loads by tension through the bolts and compression in the blocks. With bail bindings I would not recommend it because the bails also pull the toe and heel blocks apart, so the higher sack increase the bending loads on the baseplate. But with Intec that is hardly the case (unless you put them overly tight, which is not needed on Intec).

But check your bolts and T-nuts regularly. More blocks = more flex* = more fatigue loading on the bolts = shorter lifespan. Bolted connections hate flex.