Note to New Members ×

I want a slalom board -

David Kirk

The Kessler 168 vs. 171 thread has me thinking and rather than drift that thread I thought I'd start another.

I'm looking at picking up a slalom board for next season and would like to get some input for the group. I've been riding hardboots for 30+ years and carving hard for about 25 years. I'm 6'4" tall and weigh about 185 lbs. I'm an ex pro cyclist and, as cocky as it sounds, I have have no trouble generating power. I'd say I'm much more of a race-carve kind of guy than a surf-carve or Euro-carve kind of rider.

For the past 15 years or so I've been riding handbuilt team boards made in the Rossignol race room (usually 181's or 191's - radius in the 18-20m range) but this past season I bought a Kessler Alpine 185 and, not surprisingly, it changed my riding life. I love the speed, control, edge hold, and the way it wants to find the fall line but can still be made to come across the hill. On occasion I might want the board to be stiffer but otherwise it seems ideal. I'm running it with Gecko plates and TD2's. I live in Montana so ice is a non-issue......the snow being too soft to carve hard is much more common.

The only downside of the Kessler 185 is that it's happiest going fast and wide and on busy days with traffic, or days where the fresh grooming is on the narrow side, I find the idea of a board with a tighter radius attractive. I enjoy the 185 so much that I was thinking that I'd pick up a Kessler 168 to use on those days where I want to take up less room at lower speeds.

Reading the 168 vs. 171 thread makes me second guess my plan. I wonder if someone with my size/weight/riding style would be happy on the 168? Some are saying that the 168 is more a freecarve kind of board and I think I'd like more of a true race SL board.