Note to New Members ×

ISO a slush slasher (mashed potato surfer)

Spiny Norman

I have devolved from a front foot corduroy carver into a rear foot soft snow soft boot slasher.

Right now i have a Lib Tech snow mullet that i love for most conditions that i ride in. However, when the (east coast) powder sits for a day or two or gets wind packed the mullet is easily deflected. Similarly, if things get steep and sticky it does not inspire confidence. Spingtime mashed potatoes also throw it around.

So i am looking for a board that can slash turns but doesn't get bullied in less than ideal New England soft snow conditions. I am not looking to bomb bowls. I make my living riding the sides  of the trail, ducking into those powdery spots skiers cant get to. Looking for a high degree of maneuverability but a little stiffer than the Mullet. Going to be using the old burton soft stepins but with ssiffer driver boots.

my thoughts are the Prior Khyber or the Winterstick Roundtail or something similar.

Suggestions?

Thanks

Edited by Spiny Norman

I had Khyber splitboards and solids and I bought a Snow Mullet to test a number of years ago. I also found the Snow Mullet got easy deflected when the conditions were not perfect powder. The middle of the board was too soft and I really did not like it when I pushed on it hard (even at my less than 150 pounds). I enjoy the Khyber in powder, but do not find it to be a good mixed conditions, heavier snow board, at all.

Taper will help you initiate turns and keep a board playful, but many tapered powder boards are too soft in the nose, both torsionally and longitudinally, to work well in chopped up snow or denser snow (i.e. Khyber and Snow Mullet).