Note to New Members ×

starting on hard boots for a beginner?

kamran

My gf wants to start snowboarding and she already had one day on a rental soft setup. As we are looking to buy an affordable soft setup for her, I was thinking maybe she should start with (soft) hardboots on an allmountain board (something with soft flex).

Is that a bad idea for a total beginner? what are con's and pro's?

p.s. she is size 7, what would be the mondo size? (she is not around till end of the week, so I can't measure her feet in cm)

I wouldnt buy boots until Id measured her feet

me personally, I almost think a (softer) hardboot setup and a softer flex carver would be a better setup than a soft setup

EXCEPT...beginners tend to forget to keep the downhill side UP, and it seems easier to do quickly in soft boots (basically just flex your ankle in to lift toes)

dunno...Im curious about this myself as my girl has never been in hardboots and is still a beginner on a soft setup IMO

I think that it's easier to learn on a soft setup and it's usually also more comfortable.

But I also heard arguments that if you start on a hardboot setup then you have more control over the board and that would make it easier (only heard that back in Europe when we tried to rent a setup for a beginner).

Hagen.

Guest thomas_m
Originally posted by Hagen

I think that it's easier to learn on a soft setup and it's usually also more comfortable.

Counter example - my total beginner wife Mitsuko started on soft boots and threatened to quit boarding becasue they hurt her (screwed up from tennis)feet so much.

Got her a pair of Raichle closeouts from Bomber late last year, went to a bootfitter for footbeds and a little bit of strategic stretching over her problem spot and now she rides all day in comfort, won't go near her softboots.