Note to New Members ×

Prior FLC vs Donek Freecarve 1

Mike Rauch

Hi all,

I'm new to Bomber on Line. Great site!

I recently broke the rear binding on my Rossi 165 Race X VAS, and this has inspired me to replace those Xbone bindings, as well as buy another board.

I've been riding the Rossi board for about 8 years now and this was my first true hardboot board. All of my boarding is at Sun Peaks near Kamloops BC. Not too much ice, good grooming, and pretty open terrain. I'm a pretty aggressive rider, carving hard on the blue runs. 5'-11", 165lbs, size 9.5 boot. Running 64degFront and 54degRear angles.

Research on this site has narrowed my decision to a Prior or Donek ride (although I'd consider a Kessler, Coiler, or F2 Silber Feil). I'm not so concerned with cost...I'd rather make sure I get a board that will ride great for years to come.

The Prior FLC Metal seems like a great board. Sean at Donek has a Fiberglass construction 175 Freecarve 1 with a blemish at a good price that I could pick up quickly and start riding. Following are my quesitons:

1. Should I spend the extra and get a new Prior or Donek with metal construction and variable sidecut radius, or should I consider a fiberglass board?

2. If I get a new board, should I go with the Prior or the Donek. Also, is the prior FLC a better choice than the WCR Metal.

3. Was thinking of a 173 length so it's versatile for tighter turns and longer GS.

4. What is the preference on bindings? Some say F2 bombers give more feel to the board. Others like the rigidity of the Catek's. I've been used to the FAST step in bindings and like the convenience. Shoudl I go Step in or Bail type? I'm thinking I might get a pair of bail type Cateks and a pair of Bail type F2's and then run them on each board to see what I like best, and put my prefered setup on the new board.

Thanks for the help.

Mike.

Welcome!