Note to New Members ×

Any suggestions for life after a Burton Speed 165

kmagvette

I have a Speed 165 with TD2's. I am totally self taught with substantial help from the resources on this forum - thanks. I think I am at the point where I need to make the next step with respect to the board. When free riding it feels like the nose of the board over initiates, especially on toe-side. If I shift my weight back a little, then then whole board pushes a bit through the turn - get a 1->2" wide, but square, trench rather than leaving a nice clean slice in the snow. If I slow down, or make shallower turns all is well.

I also do some racing, not crazy stuff; the courses look more like decent NASTAR sets. Speeds are in the typically in the 30 mph range with moderate offsets between the gates.

I am looking for something that will be a bit more stable and speed as well as in a choppy course. I am not a super-advanced rider by any stretch of the imagination, I am riding in the East so I need something with a slalom-esque sidecut.

So, with the above in mind, any suggestions?

Slalom-sized sidecuts are not stable at high speeds. Look to a metal (greater stability) Coiler, Prior, or Donek around 170cm, and 11-12m sidecut, which is a little longer than slalom but shorter than GS.

sounds like my stub, 11 meter scr

Why not just go with the standard Coiler Schtubby X2 (171, 13.2 sidecut, pick your waist width). That'll tear up NASTAR-like courses and be a blast to freecarve on. After a brief adjustment period I doubt you will miss a SL-esque sidecut, modern Coilers are at the same time stupid easy to ride and high performance.